NASA Mars Rover News, Aug. 27, 2012

0 views
0%

NASA hosted a televised news briefing at 2:00 p.m. PDT (5:00 p.m. EDT, 21:00 UTC) Monday, Aug. 27, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover’s mission to Mars’ Gale Crater.

Curiosity is in the opening days of a two-year mission to investigate whether conditions have been favorable for microbial life and preserving clues in the rocks about possible past life.

Mission team members are living on “Mars time.” A Martian day is approximately 40 minutes longer than an Earth day, meaning team members start their shift 40 minutes later each day. The scheduling of this teleconference and other Curiosity media events is determined by their availability.

For more information about NASA’s Curiosity mission, visit: http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl

See also: http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl/news/whatsnew/index.cfm?FuseAction=ShowNews&NewsID=1326

Source: http://www.ustream.tv/NASAJPL

credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

From:
Date: August 18, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *